Jenn’s Arrival

July 24, 2006 at 9:05 am 4 comments

It’s Wednesday, July 19th and Jenn is arriving from Canada. We went to the airport to meet her. It’s a good thing her flight from Canada made the connection in Frankfurt because I realized we had no way of communicating. She didn’t even have our home address. We introduced her to Barcelona by taking her to Barri Gotic, our gym and Gracia. Our goal was to keep her awake until at least 9:00 PM to minimize her jet lag. She held up better than I would have.

The next few days we took her to different areas of the city but I must confess that I felt we could have done a better job at playing tour guide. To be honest, there is so much to this city that I really don’t know where to start. On top of that I have spanish class from 1:30 to 3:30 every day. When class is over it’s way to hot to be wandering around. Alex is working from 8:30 to 2:00 so she’s not available either. Those are my excuses but I do feel bad that we aren’t out there more. I hope Jenn enjoys what we do show her.

Friday evening, when it got cooler we went up to Parq Guell for a stroll. As you can see, Jenn got comfortable in one of the stone seats.

Jenn at Parc Guell

As the sun went down, the light softened. I love the way the evening light creates long shadows and puts highlights in the trees and hillsides. Alex gets her share of late afternoon light. It stays bright until around 10:00 at night.

We left the park from a different route than we normally do and discovered new things on our way out. This was a private house at one time and Jenn commented on the fact that it could have come from a child’s storybook. The interior must be as spectacular as the exterior but we didn’t ghet a chance to see inside.

The entrance to the park hints at the wonders that you will find within. It’s such a well planned entrance leaving almost everything to the imagination. Even the room above the steps is empty except for many massive columns with tiled domes between them.

We left the park and started walking home. On the way down, Alex and Jenn went into a little shop and I waited outside. I walked to the next corner to wait for them. Someone was practising guitar in one of the apartments. Electric, with a touch of reverb. They were playing some blues riffs, really nice. He/she would start the riff and stop, replay it with a different beat and continue. I could have sat there for an hour just listening. I really enjoyed that moment. We ended up waling all the way back, which wasn’t that far to begin with. One of the characteristics of this city.

The weekend was more active. Saturday we took her to Sant Pol de mar. Matt and his mom came along too. We went for lunch at La Platjola and order paella for four. There were 5 of us and we couldn’t finish it. I was too full and uncomfortable. The girls walked up to the old church and Matt and I went for a snooze on the beach. What a life…………….

Sunday, we went to Port Vell and Maremagnum, an area we hadn’t been to before. It was quite interesting. That is where the fishing fleet is.

We also saw the high speed ferry that goes to Majorca. Alex and I will probably use it to visit Majorca in September.

We went home from there because of the heat. Besides, we were going to Monjuic that evening so I wanted to rest since I was starting to act like a two year old. Alex says I always do when I get hot and tired. Jenn wanted to see the olympic facilities so we took the bus up to Monjuic (number 55). It lets you off right across the street. I need a seat and I had plenty to choose from……….

We wandered around the facilities and Alex took this picture of a young couple. I really like the picture so I’m including it here………

From there we walked down towards Placa Espana. We were going to see the light and music show at Fontana Magica. I was surprised by the size and number of fountains in front of MNAC. These fountains are spectacular without the effects. Looking down towards the main fountain you can get an idea of the size.

Behind us are more fountains and massive waterfalls going down to the terraces below. We’ll definitely have to go back. Alex and I on the upper terrace with Placa Espana behind us.

This photo was taken on one of the lower terraces.

MNAC and more fountains are behind us.

These are people who came to watch the show. We have a short video of part of the show but you would have to be there to really appreciate it’s beauty.

All this talk of water and look what I find. An photo of my old masters swim team in Pointe Claire. Wow, brings back memories. Hope everyone in the picture is doing fine.

Well, we pick up Gordon and Jean tonight so next week’s entry should be interesting. Have a great week.

Entry filed under: Barcelona, Blog, Fountains, Friends, Parc Guell, Parks, Pointe Claire Masters, Port Vell, Spain, Weekend.

High season at our household Tattoo or not Tattoo

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leonie Ebert  |  July 25, 2006 at 3:28 am

    Hi Alan
    I have just caught up with your blogs. I am so happy Naomi and Sara have met. thank you so much for facilitating the meeting. Did they hit it off? Thank you Alan. I have had Ana here this weekend. We had a great time together. I took her to see the beaches and one of my favourite places-Cleland Nature Park. She loved being in such close proximity with kangaroos, wallablies, emus, bandicoots, dingoes, the tasmanian devil, echidna, wombats and birds. She played and feed the kangaroos. Ana left this morning for Melbourne on the 7am flight.
    It is wonderful to see photos of Naomi. She appears to be happy. You and alex have inspired her to have her own blog. I am so pleased as this keeps me in contact with her life. Thank you again to Aex and you. I will have to begin one too.
    Cheers
    Leonie

    Reply
  • 2. Leonie Ebert  |  July 25, 2006 at 3:30 am

    Hi Alan
    Life seems to be one big Party. I was able to read your Spanish entry. congratulations
    Leonie

    Reply
  • 3. Alan  |  July 25, 2006 at 7:25 am

    Hey Leonie
    Great to hear from you. You’ll have to send me Naomi’s blog address so I can put it in my blog. (and yours too)
    Alan

    Reply
  • 4. Dana  |  July 25, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Such a beautiful city!! I’ve been on one of the high speed ferrys to Ibiza from Valencia. Its pretty loud but gets you there very fast!

    I went to Majorca with my friend Neil for a few days and we really enjoyed it. I’ll have to look through my stuff to see where we went as there was one place we really liked.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 125,195 hits