A Blading Problem

May 4, 2006 at 9:41 pm 2 comments

Ok, this post is totally off the subject of Barcelona. I'm looking to buy another pair of inline skates. My old ones, which I left in Canada, are ancient, weigh at least 10 kgs each and are like a pair of cement shoes. They even clamp on like cement shoes. I've been looking through different models and I am really having a difficult time choosing. I was interestedinitially in the 5 wheel models because I just wanted to put on the mileage. You know, strap them on, put your hands behind your back, lean into the wind and skate. As I thought about them, it dawned on me that those skates would require an exagerated rythm. Like speed skates, I'd need to really exagerate the foot lift and I'm pretty sure I don't want to get into that type of skating. The reason you'd have to skate like that is because of the wheel length. Think about it, five 90 mm wheels makes for a really long rail which translates into a really long stroke. Ok, those are gone, now I'm shopping in the 4 wheel market. I think I'd like blades with a wheel size between 84 mm to 90 mm. 90 mm wheels still make for a long wheel base, even with only 4 wheels, but I think I can adjust. I'm considering Rollerblade's Lightning and the Crossfire, K2's V02 and V02 Max and Salomon's Pilot 90 Pro and Motion 7.

I'm tending towards the Rollerblades but I think that's a bias on my part. If anyone who reads these blogs has any suggestions at all, I'd be really happy to read them in the comments. 

This city has an amazing place for blading down by the water. You can probably skate for kilometers withour turning around and your right by the beach. Hmmmm, last time I skated near sand I got a great road rash.You cannot make really sharp turns when there is sand around, learned that the hard way (just like I learn everything else). Anyhow, with Alex starting to go to the archives every day, I thought I'd head down to the boardwalk and skate.

See ya 

Entry filed under: Blog.

Txacolín & Helado Italiano The Weekend Plus

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HD  |  May 5, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    And, did you decide? Have fun skating or blading or whatever!

    HD

    Reply
  • 2. joann  |  May 8, 2006 at 11:38 am

    Well the weekend is over…did you buy the skates?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos



More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,342 hits

