The Weekend Plus

May 8, 2006 at 9:03 pm 6 comments

Wow, what a weekend. We went to visit Pearl and Al in Salou. A gorgeous place 90 mins south of Barcelona. It's a beach and tourist town. We went down on Friday night and stayed until Sunday. Saturday, we took the train to Tarangona. We really wanted to see the roman ruins and Alex wanted to see the cathedral. We weren't disappointed. We had a sunny day and we walked all over. See the photos below of Taragona.

Cathedral in Taragona

Alex in Taragona

Pearl, Al and Alex

I was most impressed with the roman ruins. We saw the amphitheatre by the ocean but we toured the circus maximus ruins further up the hill. I had such strong feelings of the place and the gladiators who once fought there. We walked the same route that they would have used to go into the arena and I stood in one of the cells where they would have prepared themselves for the upcoming events. Touching the walls that they may have leaned against after a fight was amazing. I always sense the presence of past souls whenever I touch or come close to anything of stone. Even simple rock conveys so much to me. Anyhow, let me just say that I really enjoyed being there.

Roman Ruins

 We returned with Pearl and Al to Barcelona on Sunday and took them up to Gracia in the evening. It was totally relaxing and we stopped for supper in a Lebanese restaurant. They were magnificent and even gave us postres (dessert) on the house. After supper we walked over to the placa (square) where the famous gelateria is. Al wanted his ice cream and he'd heard so much about this place. He took his number (51) and looked to see what number was being served (6). We waited and he finally got his ice cream.

Monday morning, Alex and I got up early and headed off to the gym. Alex did weights and I swam. They had done up my workouts but because we had to go to the bank at 8:30, I just swam for 45 mins. Alex headed off to the archives and Pearl, Al and myself headed down towards Placa Catalunya. I took them to check out some roller blade prices at Decathalon in the old town. After that I left them on their own and went to school. We met up after class and walked over to the archives where we waited for Alex. Al fell asleep on a park bench. I guess it was in preparation for the next walk.

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, we walked over to the other roller blade place and I bought my blades. I bought a pair of K2's VO2 Max and a back pack to carry them in. They are a beautiful skate as you can see in the photo. They have 90 mm wheels and the boot is really comfortable.

 

Ok, off to bed, have a great day

My Roler Blades

 

Entry filed under: Blog.

A Blading Problem First Skate In a Long Long Time

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HD  |  May 9, 2006 at 12:30 am

    Nice haircut Alex! Cool blades Alan! Have fun skating. HD

    Reply
  • 2. joann  |  May 9, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    The pixs of the ruins are superb. Have you been to Stonehedge in England to touch the rocks?
    Love to you and Alex
    JJ

    Reply
  • 3. Dana  |  May 9, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    Beautiful pictures! I always wanted to go to Tarragona, maybe my next trip to Spain… Alex, your hair looks great!

    The blades are cool Alan, have fun with them!

    Reply
  • 4. Rheya  |  October 23, 2006 at 2:24 am

    I am sorry I am a bit late , but I just want to thank you for the beautiful words you wrote about my gelateria in gracia where Al ate my ( his ) ice cream . As you surely know , I make the ice creams myself , so I am always very proud if they are appreciated by the customers .
    I hope he liked it and you enjoyed your staying in Spain .
    I am italian but I live here since 1999 so I consider it like my second country !
    best regards !

    Reply
  • 5. Alan  |  October 23, 2006 at 5:04 am

    Hi Rheya
    Yes, Al loved his (your) ice cream. They had a wonderful visit. We are still here and I go to your gelateria quite often. You usually know what I want. Un cucurucho de menta, solo.
    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Reply
  • 6. Rheya  |  October 23, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    oh ! surely I remember you ! what a surprise ! I published your mail in my blog ! I hope you don’t mind ! wait you again in my parlour !, don’t forget the ” fiesta del helado ” on octuber 31 and november 1st , when you could get every ice cream at half price !
    ciao
    Rheya ( Marina)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,463 hits

