First Skate In a Long Long Time

May 10, 2006 at 8:44 pm 2 comments

This morning I made it to the gym and had a great swim. They have made up my workout but I haven't started it yet. I read it and got so tired from just reading it that I had to do my own thing. Actually, I have to figure out the different strokes in Spanish. Alex headed off to the archives and I went home to pack my new blades into my new "blade knapsack" and do my homework for school. I went to class and we had a sub teacher. Sarah, our regular teacher has a really bad cold and yesterday she could hardly speak. Anyhow, time slowed to a crawl because I was going blading right after class. School ended and I was the first out of the room. I ran across the street and got on the number 59 bus to take me to the beach. The bus heads off toward Las Ramblas and keeps going around Placa Catalunya. I thought it a little strange but figured it might be going a different route. We went by the school and kept going. Now I know something’s not right but a part of me figures he'll turn soon. He did turn, but the wrong way. I had no clue what part of the city I was in so I thought I'd stick it out. The worst thing to happen would be ending up where I got on. Forty-five minutes later, we're heading back down towards the sea. It was at this point I went up to the driver and asked " Los autobus ves a la playa ?" The driver responded with a si and I asked "quando ?". He says "poco" so I went back and waited some more. I finally asked some woman in front of me with my broken Spanish and she said si, poco. Ok, 90 minutes later we're heading towards the beach. It turns out that I got on the bus 1 stop after the turn to the beach so I ended up doing the entire route back to the stop before the one I got on. Turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I skated until Alex was ready to leave the archives and now I am the proud owner of legs that don't want to listen anymore. God, if I had been skating the entire time, I wouldn't be able to walk. Here's where I skated today …..

Olympic Village

Big Yacht

Harbour

The lower upper half toys

Down the boardwalk

Ok, I'm fading quckly. I'll be going blading again tomorrow. Have a great evening…ouch

Entry filed under: Blog, Day to Day.

The Weekend Plus I’ve Been Tagged

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joann  |  May 11, 2006 at 11:50 am

    You’re good. I can barely make it around the block on mine.

    Reply
  • 2. HD  |  May 11, 2006 at 2:12 pm

    I see you bought yourself I nice little boat…..? 😉 Hahahaaa, joking.

    H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,381 hits

