The Trip – Part 2 Still the Park

June 12, 2006 at 9:01 pm 2 comments

Well, I’m back at the park. Haven’t found the Palacio de Cristal yet but I just came across the same grove I found yesterday. This time I sit and start sketching the trees in my moleskine. I spent a few hours drawing and then I notice there were three people meditating. I could feel this was a special place and obviously, there were others who felt the same. The energy here was very positive and very tangible. It bordered on spooky. I finally left and found the Palacio de Cristal. It was weird coming across it in the mood I was in, the thing shimmers and glows in the sun. It reflects light in reds, greens, purples and all hues in between, like the inside of a shell.

Inside, the floors are mirrors and it’s very bright. You must remove your shoes so they give you special socks to wear and only allow 25 people in at any time. There was music playing but the sound was almost random. It was rather soothing. I found out later that the music was an artistic installation and was only there for a short time. I tell you, I was starting to go a bit weird with all the sensations I was feeling.

I had to get going to meet Alex. Even that was a very strange experience. I went to P. del Prado and sat on a park bench off the main path. I’m people watching and suddenly feel a tug on my pocket. I look down and here is this black and white bird, pecking at the label. I sort of jumped a bit and it hops onto my lap and stares at me. Ok, this day is getting too strange. People have stopped at the intersection and are now pointing at me. I’m trying to get rid of this bird but it won’t leave. A crowd is starting to gather and a woman comes over. Haven’t got a clue what she said but I gather this is an adolescent bird trying to get food and the mother is over in the grass.. I pick the bird up and carry it over to the grass where mother is having a fit. She’s pretty nervous so as soon as I step on the grass it flies into a tree. I put the junior down and go back to the bench. The mother comes down and starts screaching and pecking at junior, really giving him shit. Junior flies back to me and lands on my lap. Now I really don’t know what to do so I pick him up again and throw him up into a tree. Mom flies down and lands on the end of the bench I’m sitting at, cocks her head, gives me a look and flies off. Meanwhile, quite a crowd has gathered to watch all this and I’m feeling really self concious, especially when junior flies back down again. I have to get rid of this bird so I totally ignore it. It’s trying to get on my lap but I keep my arms in the way. Finally, Alex arrives and we head off to Centro de arte Reina Sofia to see the Picasso and Dali exhibit. Hopefully junior is ok. I guess he somehow imprinted on a human and now thinks he’s one of us.

No photos allowed at Centro de arte Reina Sofia but we took the back stairs out and took these photos. Figure the first one out.

Back Stairs

Tomorrow I’ll continue Toledo which to me was the best part.

Entry filed under: Blog, Madrid, Palacio de Cristal, Parks, Parque del Retiro, Reina Sofia.

The Trip Impresiones madrileñas

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. blaadje  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks for this great post, it was just the missing info that ui was looking for, for my study

    Thanks

    Blaadje

    Reply
  • 2. Alan Bell  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:54 pm

    Blaadje, what kind of study are you doing? Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Flickr Photos



More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,342 hits

