Farewell to a great companion

July 13, 2006 at 11:33 am 4 comments

Tequila came into our lives in 1996. She was born in May and came to live with me when she was only 51 days old. She was the cutest puppy in the world and soon amazed us by her quiet demeanor, innate good manners and sharp intelligence. She was a true people dog and would rather sit on a park bench beside us and people watch than run around with other dogs.

Watching the world go by

She was also a world traveller. From Recife she went to Resende and then to Rio and Brasilia. From Brasilia I took her to Montreal, where we lived for 3 years and then to Toronto, where we stayed for another while. Tequila loved Canada. She relished the cold and snow. I was always amazed at how much energy she had at minus 20 celsius. The happiest I ever saw her was when we took her hiking into the mountains north of Montreal, in the Fall. She  must have zigzagged a good 20 km that day, but she had us, she was free and it was cold. She ran the whole way up the mountain and down. Needless to say, she slept for 3 days afterwards.

When Alan first came to Brazil to meet my parents, in december 1997, she didn’t like him. She knew he meant a lot to me and was jealous. But he would put her on top of the wall that surrounded my parents home and together they would sit there for hours watching the world go by. Once Alan retired, they became best buddies and she would call him for a nap every afternoon. He would be working on the computer, she would come, nudge his hand and then point towards the couch, where she would lie at his feet.

Best buddies

When it came time to come to Spain, I had to bring her back to Brazil. I knew her health wasnt the best at that point and I wanted her to be in a place where she would get the best care and attention. That she did. Today my mom called me to let me know they had to put her down. She now rests in a quiet little plot by the river, across from my parents’ home. Here are some recent pictures from when we lived in Toronto:

Summer walks thru U of T

In the ferry to Toronto Islands

She stayed out of the way when I cooked

You were the best buddy I ever had. You’ll live forever in my heart….

Entry filed under: Brazil.

Mi Primero Post en Castellano Farewell Tequila

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  July 15, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    Hi Alex,
    I’m so sorry to hear about Tequila! I never had the pleasure of meeting her but I heard from many that she was a wonderful dog.

    take care,
    Dana

    Reply
  • 2. Christian Knudsen  |  July 16, 2006 at 11:15 am

    Hey Alexandra,

    My sincere condolences about Tequila. I know how difficult it can be to lose a pet. I’m sure she had a very happy life with you and your family.

    Christian

    Reply
  • 3. Alexandra  |  July 16, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    HI Dana, hi Christian,

    Thanks for the kind words.

    I have learned a lesson with Tequila’s death – if you ever have a pet, do some research before changing your pet’s diet on the advice of a vet. Tequila developed a tumor in her liver after 2 years of being fed some crap dog food – sold only by vets – on the advice of a good vet, from a reputable clinic. I have since learned that the only training vets get on nutrition is a one hour lecture given by a representative of the pet food industry. That’s what makes me upset the most about her illness and death.

    Hope all is well with the two of you.

    Dana – keep me posted on your move and when you get to El Paso.

    Alex

    Reply
  • 4. James White  |  December 17, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Dear Alex,
    I’m very sorry for your loss, I truly am. I understand the pain and sadness when your best friend has to leave you. Over the years i learned a valuable lesson that I will be very happy to share with you. Don’t be sad that it’s over, be happy that it happened. That you got the chance to own the most wodnerful dog in the world, and she belong to you. As a 16 year old thats the best advice I can offer.
    R.I.P Tequila, I pray you have a lot of treats, and people to play with you , wherever you are.
    Also Alex I pray that you to, will find the light in your darkness.

    Lots of love,
    -James

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,381 hits

