One Long Weekend

July 18, 2006 at 8:09 am 2 comments

Leone is a woman from Australia whom I met at Speakeasy (a spanish language school). Through her, Alex and I met her daughter Naomi. Leone went back home in June but before she left she made me promise to introduce Naomi to Sara, our spanish profesora. This Friday I fullfilled that promise and took a photo to prove it. Leone, here is proof that Naomi and Sara have met (love to have a comment on that)

Sara and Naomi

Saturday, we spent most of the day cleaning. In the morning we went up to the market in gracia. What an active place in the mornings. It’s full of positive energy and the vendors have a great sense of humor. We had breakfast before coming back to our cleaning chores. Wednesday, Jenn, from Montreal, is coming to visit for a few weeks. Gordon and Jean are coming next week so we’ll be pretty busy over the next few weeks. It will give Alex and I the opportunity to see areas of BCN that we haven’t yet visited and to rediscover places we have seen. I’m really looking forward to introducing them to Barcelona.

Sunday was beach day. We left BCN at 10:48 AM (the train) and went back up to Sant Pol de Mar. This time we made a reservation at the restaurant for 4:00 so we wouldn’t have to wait. I set up my umbrellas (yes, I use two) and my towel and settled in for the day. I don’t enjoy laying directly under the sun so I always bring the umbrellas. We bought masks and snorkels because the water is so clear so I was all excited and eager to get in the water. I took my mask and snorkel, ran down to the water and dove right in. I guess I spent about 30 minutes exploring the rocks and see bottom. Getting back to my refuge from the sun, I plugged into my ipod and looked for my glasses. I suddenly occured to me that I didn’t remember taking them OFF before hitting the agua. Alex didn’t believe me but I went back to the place I dove in and looked around. After aminute or so, I saw the shape of glasses for a fraction of a second. I dove down to where I had seen them and guess what. I found them, safe and sound. Boy, talk about lucky. We had a great meal with wine, caught the train and got home around 7:30 all tired out.

Alex’s friend Dana is moving to El Paso. In January, Dana won a tenure track position at the university there and she and husband Bobby are moving. It’s sad because we were just getting to know each other before we left for BCN and I felt that we got along really well. Toronto won’t be the same when we return. Hope they have a safe and pleasant journey.
Alex and Dana

You know, I’ve been retired for almost 2 years now and it still feels like a long weekend. It’s such a weird feeling to have such a LONG WEEKEND.

Entry filed under: Barcelona, Beaches, Blog, Friends, Long Weekends, Spain, Weekend.

Farewell Tequila High season at our household

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pearl  |  July 22, 2006 at 1:02 am

    Hola,
    I am so sorry to hear that Teguila passed away!!!!! Alex and her Mom must be sad. Well she travelled a lot in her life and was loved dearly.
    It sounded like you guys are enjoying meeting new friends and parties! The last guitar party we played till after 12 and that was late!!!!!!
    Well enjoy! I actually comprehend your Spanish passage!!!!! Congratulations! Pearl

    Reply
  • 2. Pearl  |  July 22, 2006 at 1:14 am

    Alan,
    It is very strange that I had a similar eye glass loss experience! I left my glasses on my towel on a cement block on the edge of the beach and my friend’s son cut his toe badly by some mussels on the rock and was bleeding profusely. My friend then grabbed my towel, not noticing my glasses on top of it, and tied his son’s foot tightly. Well his wife and I looked very carefully but couldn’t find my glasses while Al drove them to the first aid centre. We finally gave up but when they returned, my friend found them under a rock!!!! I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have found my glasses!!!
    Well yours was interesting and lucky you too!!!!
    Happy swimming!!!! That was how we spent many hours of our camping days cooling down in the water.
    Pearl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,416 hits

