Jenn’s Departure – Finally

July 29, 2006 at 5:54 am 1 comment

It’s 12:10 P.M. and Jen just called her mom from Franfurt – from the Lufthansa desk. They are putting her up in a hotel overnight and she will fly home tomorrow via Munich on Lufthansa. She leaves Frankfurt at 11:15 A.M. and Munich at 15:30 arriving in Montreal at 17:50 P.M. Kudos to Lufthansa for taking care of Jenn because they were not responsible for the chaos at BCN.
She is ok . Hope she has a good night’s sleep and relaxes up at the cottage. This is one holiday she’ll never forget.

Here’s an update from Jenn when she arrived in Montreal…………

Quote

I finally made it home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a long adventure back. I arrived at the hotel near the Frankfurt airport at approx 1am. I only got to sleep at about 2am (after a knock on the door from room service that I did not order!).

I got up at 7am, had breakfast at the hotel and then went to the airport. I was sent to one desk after another and finally had my flights confirmed. I asked if there was any possibility of getting on the A/C flight to Mtl at 10:50am but it was full. Apparently, not only were delays caused by the stike in Spain but also bad weather in Frankfurt. The airport was crazy this morning.

I had a 3 hour wait in Munich which I spent most of reading. Thank goodness I had a good book!

Probably because I was anxious to get home, but the flight from Munich seemed very long. I finished my book and had already seen the movie so there was not much to do.

I am glad to be back home. I am not going to the cottage since would want to be back early afternoon to do laundry.

Thank you again so much for such a wonderful time. Although I could have done without the adventure at the end, I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed my vacation.

Enjoy the rest of Gordon and Jean’s visit.

Love,

Jen

P.S. You can tell Gordon that I was cursing him yesterday. He must have jinxed the flight by saying over and over that he had to find a way for me to stay in Barcelona.

Unquote

As a footnote to this whole advenure I’d like to add that we never forget unplanned adventures. If this trip had occured as planned it would simply have become one of many pleasant memories. Now, Jenn has stories to tell and those stories will last a lifetime.

Entry filed under: Airlines & Airports, Barcelona, Blog, Friends, Spain.

Jenn’s Departure – Maybe Another Day, Another Beach

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  July 30, 2006 at 12:08 am

    This is Jen. I finally made it back to Montreal at approx 6pm local time. It has been a long adventure home but certainly did not dampen the great holiday that I had. Thanks so much to Alan and Alex for being such great hosts. Thanks to Gordon and Jean for allowing me to drag them around on a 2 day bus tour of Barcelona in extreme heat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,463 hits

