It Finally Happened

September 19, 2006 at 6:28 pm 4 comments

Well, today, Tuesday September 19 it happened. Norbert and Carole are in town and we were just wandering around. We had gone to Hospital Sant Pau and took the number 92 bus up to the top entrance of Parc Guell. We walked around the park and exited at the lower entrance. From there we walked to where the number 24 bus stops. It was crowded and when the bus came there was a lot of people in a hurry to get on. Once on, someone pushed Norbert and he gave them grief. I was also being jostled and I kept looking at my pocket to make sure nothing was going on there. I had my camera in my other hand and I was trying to keep my balance on a moving bus. I felt something near the pocket so I turned away so that my pocket was against the seat. To no avail. There were three east europeans working together and they got out at the next stop. Actually, they waited until the door was closing and then dashed out. I immediately felt for my wallet and guess what, gone. I should have yelled something right away but for some reason I didn’t (maybe pride). I didn’t lose much, maybe 5 Euros at most. I had a debit card, my drivers licence, my health insurance card and a pocket version of my birth certificate. All except the birth certificate are photo id. I had another debit card so I used it right away to cancel the old one.

How do I feel ? I’m not sure. I am pissed off but not all that much. I do wish that I could have inflicted severe physical pain on one of them and I envision different scenarios by which that happens. Anyhow, I now have experience on what to look for. I was always cautious on the subway but the bus had never occured to me. It just goes to show that even when you’re prepared you always let your guard down and that is when it happens. OK, now I have learned and will take measures to prevent this from happening again. Now anyone reading this blog must understand that this type of theft occurs in ALL big cities. Paris, London and Rome. Barcelona is no exception and I would still encourage everyone to come and visit.

Entry filed under: Alan's Blog, Barcelona, Blog, Day to Day, pickpockets, Spain, Theft.

Catalan language and poetry Fall is here

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  September 19, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    I’m so sorry that this happened Alan!! That totally sucks. There were attempts to pickpocket me in Barcelona, Valencia, Madrid, London and other cities I’ve been in. I was fortunate in that they were never successful. The one place where it happened and I lost my wallet was Toronto!
    Unfortunately, it is part of most big cities in the world. Here in El Paso, people leave their cars open (including windows), and doors open and don’t seem too concerned about theft. It is very strange after living in Toronto!

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  September 19, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Too bad! It can happen anywhere and I guess we must all be conscious of lots of people is close proximity.

    Reply
  • 3. ssjha  |  September 24, 2006 at 4:46 am

    Hi,
    I read abt urs “about comments” section. I totally agree with that.
    I haven’t been able to go through all the posts but will do so later.

    The most beautiful thing that i like about urs blog was the travels and the picture that u showed. they are awsome.

    I liked them so much that i have blog-rolled them on http://angrezi.wordpress.com/

    Also more abt me is that i am currently an MBA student in India and have a secret desire to trot around the globe like u have shown in urs blog

    Reply
  • 4. tim maguire  |  September 25, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    Coincidentally, I was at Park Gruell the same day you were (just got home to NYC yesterday). Leading up to the trip, I put Barcelona on a huge pedastal and, remarkably, it lived up to the anticipation. I can’t wait to go back.

    Sorry to hear about the theft. There’s not much you could have done–these people are pros. The thief probably immediately handed the wallet off to someone else, who may have even handed it to a third so if you catch the thief, he doesn’t have it and you have no proof. Violence fantasies are therapeutic, but it’s just as well they stayed fantasies–the complications would be much worse than what you lost.

    Personally, I never carry a wallet. I just keep the cash and absolutely necessary cards in my pocket.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,416 hits

