Photo Morning

January 24, 2007 at 1:12 pm 2 comments

This morning I didn’t really feel like going to the gym but I had to do something. I decided to go down to the docks where all the commercial fishing boats are. My intention was to try and get some interesting photos.

Alex and I headed out the door at 8:00 and the first thing we noticed was …………IT WAS COLD. Not Canadian cold but cold enough to make your bare hands uncomfortable. Actually, it was 5 C but windy. We took the bus down to where Alex is doing her research and stopped for a coffee near there. She went to work and I took the tram down to the beach. I walked along the boardwalk looking for something to photograph. The sun was shining straight in from the Med and it was bright. The waves were breaking a little off the beach and the sun behind them made for an interesting subject. I’d never shot waves before so here was my chance. Down to the water’s edge I go, get the camera out and …… couldn’t see a thing. Camera settings were on the lcd but the sun was so bright I couldn’t see anything. I had to guess and use the viewfinder. Here’s what I caught and I’m quite pleased considering …….

This last one was the worst of them all. The sun was directly in front of me and I couldn’t even see the actual wave. I went by the sound and shot when I thought it was breaking. Pure luck.

I kept walking to the docks but I couldn’t get close to the water. Everything was blocked off on the dock side and the beach side was full of construction. I was getting coolish (a true Canadian would not be cold in +5 C) at this point so I headed back home. At least it wasn’t a total waste and I actually enjoyed the morning.

Oh, here’s another photo I came across on my computer. Just loaded it up to Flickr

Have a great day.

Entry filed under: Alan's Blog, Barcelona, Beaches, Blog, Canon, Day to Day, Flickr, France, Paris, Photography, Random, Spain.

Blog for Choice Wushu – New season

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JoAnn  |  January 25, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Those are absolutely beautiful photos of the waves – the colours and the pefection of the crests are something else.
    Hi to Alex.

    Reply
  • 2. Pearl  |  March 8, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Alan,
    I finally caught up with your blog and really enjoyed the pictures of your hike and all others. I am especially impressed with the pictures of the waves. They were perfect. Well I saw a lot of waves in Los Cabos but never looked at waves in such a way! I like to see if I could catch them the way you did next time when I see waves.
    Thank you!
    Pearl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,416 hits

