Monday with Moussa

February 7, 2007 at 1:15 am 3 comments

Yesterday evening we went to Libraria Baïbars to catch the opening of Moussa ag Assarid’s photo exhibit of the children of the Sahara. As I explained before, Moussa is a Touareg, a nomad Berber tribe that roams the Sahara desert. Possessed of a keen curiosity about the world around him, Moussa went to school and eventually won a scholarship to study in France. He has since written a book about his experiences in France, and has dedicated himself to raising awareness to the plight of the nomadic peoples of the desert, promoting Touareg culture, and raising support for a school for Touareg children. The stop in Barcelona was part of his Caravan of the Heart, a journey towards his home country going from Paris to Tombouctu, crossing five countries.

The place was packed as everybody waited for the members of the caravan to arrive.

Baibars

Moussa gave a little talk about his book, answered questions and then signed books. The book-signing wasn’t planned, someone asked and he graciously accepted. I lined up with the rest and watched as he signed the books – he actually took the time to write a different message on each book he signed! He was very kind and I exchanged a few words with him when my turn came. I told him I would bring his words to Canada and he immediately sounded interested “vous habitez là-bas?” he asked. I said I did and he asked where. Toronto & before that Montreal. I’m originally from Brazil. He smiled and said “vous êtes partout le monde.” I said yes, I’m a citizen of the world. He asked what I did and I answered I study history. “Ça, c’est très important”. I smiled, he finished signing my book, and we shook hands. It was a really nice moment. Meeting people like Moussa and having a chance to exchange a few words is good for the soul.
Moussa & I

Here’s what he wrote:

signature

Moussa in the news here (in Catalan)

Entry filed under: Books, Moussa ag assarid, touareg.

Real beauty Tribute to Our Friends

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tribute to Our Friends « Chronicles of An Academic Groupie  |  February 7, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    […] 7th, 2007 Monday evening, (see Alex’s blog here) Alex and I went to a photo exhibit in a bookstore, Libraria Baïbars, up on calle Muntaner. The […]

    Reply
  • 2. julie70  |  February 12, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Moussa wrote in french, do you read french? then come to see my blog (or blogs), in what language was his book and where does he lived before France?

    Reply
  • 3. guerson  |  February 12, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Hi Julie,
    Yes, I do read French! I bought the spanish translation of the book, since I couldn´t find the original french version here in Barcelona.
    Moussa was born in the desert (Sahara) on northern Mali. He went to France in 2002.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,463 hits

