Where Have I Been

March 17, 2007 at 12:06 pm 2 comments

I have been neglecting my blog since our move. Partly because of adjusting to a new environment and partly because I was more involved in Flickr. I’m back because I have something to write about.

Alex and I went to Girona. Alex had some research to do there and since there was going to be a talk about “Convivencia of Jews, Muslims and Christians in the Middle Ages” on Thursday we decided this was the time to go. We had planned to do separate things when we were there. In other words, I was going to go exploring while Alex would be in the archives doing her research. Those plans changed when we got there and I was going to become ………

A RESEARCH ASSISTANT

We checked into our 14th century hotel (see Alex’s blog) and headed off to the archives. My role was to take digital photos of the documents Alex needed. This was exciting. I was actually going to be touching books and documents from the 14th century. Notes written in 1386. I found this to be amazing.

This was just one of many books we handled. Here are some others.

Most of the books had very plain covers and Alex told me that they used older documents to bind the newer ones. Here’s one with a notarial document dating from 1314 and used to bind documents from 1391.

As we looked for the particular entries that Alex was interested in we came across little pieces of paper (from the same period) with writing on them. They were little reminder notes and, in some instances, drafts of the documents. I found that to be amazing, 700 year old reminder notes.

It wasn’t all work and no play. Although the light was way to flat for photos (the old town is very monochromatic and even in the best of light, it’s hard to get good photos) I managed to get some good ones of the stairways in the archive buildings.

and …..

While wandering around the city we found another Subirach dedicated to the Cathedral of Girona.

The interesting thing about his work are the little details you discover. They are found on his other works too. Do you recognize this one from a previous post ? For more on Subirachs go here.

Alex had found some great places to eat (as only Alex can) and you’ll have to visit her blog for more details. Suffice to say that they were great, especially Mimolet.

After eating lunch, we walked the walls of the old city. Parts of the wall are from Roman times and they are in very good condition. There are ruins covering many centuries and it’s quite a feeling to wander through and around them. At the end of the wall, we walked over to the other side of the river. Alex wanted to find where the talk would be held. After we found it, I went back to our hotel and she went to the talk. We met up after for dinner.

To see more photos of Girona, go here in my blog.

We left Girona on Friday and got home around 5:00. At 9:00 we went out to Francisca’s for a Chilean dinner. I’m really sorry I didn’t bring my camera because Laura and Carmen danced some traditional Spanish dances. Laura also gave a demonstration of castanets. Really cool stuff and we had a great evening.

We left there around 1:30 and beleive me, I was tired. All in all, a great few days.

Entry filed under: academic, Alan's Blog, Blog, Girona, Subirachs.

Popular Amazing food in Girona

2 Comments Add your own

  • […] that I can use for my thesis… And Alan has been named my official research assistant 😉 Go here for Alan’s take on his new […]

    Reply
  • 2. Pearl  |  March 19, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Alan,
    It took me a while to see the first stair picture. I like all the pictures. Congratulations on the chosen pictures on display! Great job!
    Thanks for the blog news. It is always fascinating to read your Blog!
    Pearl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,416 hits

