Tribute to Our Friends

February 7, 2007 at 9:47 pm 7 comments

Monday evening, (see Alex’s blog here) Alex and I went to a photo exhibit in a bookstore, Libraria Baïbars, up on calle Muntaner. The author was Moussa ag Assarid, from a nomadic Berber tribe called the Touareg. To read all about Moussa, go to Alex’s site here. You must read about this amazing individual but this post is not about Moussa per se.

Anyhow, we arrived at the bookstore and listened to Moussa tell us “une petite histoire” about how he came to be here in Barcelona. While he was speaking I had a very strong feeling of familiarity. Not a feeling of “deja vu”, but a feeling of knowing. I couldn’t communicate the feeling to Alex because I myself did not understand it. We talked about it and I just couldn’t say why because I really didn’t know.

Well, Alex is very good in getting me to understand what’s going on and after a few days of discussions I think I now know why I had this feeling. Moussa is an individual whose personality is simalar to almost all of our friends here in Barcelona. This connection also made me understand another feeling I frequently get when we are with a group of our friends.

All my life, I have been conventional, ok, almost conventional. You know, the mainstream ideology. Since we arrived here, not one person we have come to call a friend is from the same background as me. They are all fiercely independent, adventuresome, free spirited individuals who do what their hearts drive them to do, doing what they enjoy doing, being in places they want to be part of. They are all extremely creative as scientists, chefs, artists, cinematographers, fashion designers, musicians, educators. Their educations range from high school to Phd’s and they are all share the same drive and passion as Moussa. I suppose while listening to him speak I had a subconscious link to those personalities but couldn’t consciously figure it out.

It explains also why I sometimes feel like a fraud when I am with my friends. I feel like I am only there because of circumstance, not through any planning on my part.

I realized too, that the same applies to our friends in Toronto. They have those same adventuresome characteristics

and Montreal …..

Anyhow, this is a tribute to you all (and you all know who you are). I’m very proud to be your friend.

Entry filed under: Alan's Blog, Alex's Blog, Barcelona, Blog, Canada, Day to Day, Friends, Spain.

Monday with Moussa If the world was a village of 100 people…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen P  |  February 7, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Alan,
    What a lovely tribute…..I got kind of choked up!
    I hope that although, I am not as adventurous as those you have met recently, you still count me in your “group” of friends. I know that I do you.
    I am proud that you and Alex have been able to spend the time you have in Toronto and Barcelona. You had a long, “traditional”, career in Montreal. You worked hard to have the great life that you now have. You deserve it!
    Jen

    Reply
  • 2. Our friends… « Our Great European Adventure  |  February 7, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    […] of 100 people… Our friends… February 8th, 2007 Alan has written a little tribute to our friends. I just wanted to say that I agree with him 100% and would like to add these pictures to the ones […]

    Reply
  • 3. guerson  |  February 8, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Hmmm, it seems wordpress is automatically cross-referencing other blog entries (like mine above) that refer back to the original entry…

    Anyways, this was a great tribute sweety but I think you got one thing wrong: you are nowhere near as conventional as you think 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Dana  |  February 8, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    I don’t think I would EVER describe you as conventional Alan!

    Reply
  • 5. jcf  |  February 8, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    if you want to know some more about Moussa you can go on his blog . but it is in french …

    Reply
  • 6. guerson  |  February 8, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    I keep telling him Dana – he still thinks he’s just a boring regular guy compared to all the people he knows… As if I would marry a boring regular guy 😉

    Reply
  • 7. Alan Bell  |  February 20, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Aww, you guys are just toooooooo kind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 124,381 hits

